How It Started – Cartoons and Commercials

April 17, 2008 at 11:01 am 1 comment

 

 

The above two YouTube videos sparked my initial interest in this “project.”  My brother actually posted these videos on my facebook wall.  When I first clicked “play” I was so, so excited!!!  

Not only did I remember the words to the entire Garfield and Friends theme song and the entire Crossfire commercial, but I absolutely remember every visual of each segment.  These really take me back to Saturday mornings and weekday afternoons in elementary school.  I actually owned a Crossfire game at one point, and am not sure where it is.  I have to go digging for it in my basement.  If I recover it, I’ll be sure to post some nice action photos.  I can’t promise I’ll be surfing on one of the game pieces though.

In terms of Garfield and Friends, wow did I love that show!  What’s there not to love about a cat who eats everything in sight.  I did collect lots of Garfield (and Odie!) merchandise over the years.  Stuffed animals, T-shirts, pencils (I probably received these in a goody bag from a birthday party) and of course, the Garfield stuffed animal with the suction cups on his paws, that everyone used to stick on the inside of their car windows.  What a fun site to see on the Long Island Expressway.  The one thing I never fully understood about the show was the cut to Orson and his farmland-friends, but I enjoyed it just the same.  It was a nice break from the constant sarcasm and digestion taking place in Jon’s kitchen.  But poor Wade with his inner tube.  A duck who can’t swim – no wonder he almost got the crap kicked out of him every episode. 

I miss this lasagna-loving lump!  “Disguises, surprises and pies of all sizes” for all!

Entry filed under: videos. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

In the beginning… Nesquik – Powder Is Preferable

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Greg  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    U.S. Acres was Jim Davis’s second comic strip, and was incoroprated into the show!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected