Saved By The “IM”

April 25, 2008 at 11:58 am Leave a comment

Awhile ago I got an amazing instant message (IM) from one of my friends at work:

FRIEND (3:19:58 PM):i saw leon karosi yesterday

Amazing!  I know who Leon Kerosi is, do you?  If you’re a Saved By The Bell fanatic like I am, then you definitely know who he is.  He’s none other than the proud owner of the Malibu Sands Beach Club.  The cast worked here during one summer (or 6 episodes).  Actually, Lisa Turtle didn’t work here, she OF COURSE was a member.  Moving right along to the flashback and memory:

The IM conversation resulted in this:

FRIEND (3:19:58 PM):i saw leon karosi yesterday
ME (3:22:52 PM): no way!
ME (3:23:08 PM):were you at the malibu sands beach club?
FRIEND (3:26:21 PM):hahaha i was
FRIEND (3:30:31 PM):i went there to have some breakfast in the dining room and then I was planning to go hit on kelly at the lifegaurd stand before gearing up for the big volleyball game. I’m really only on the team to get a work out in preparation for the big obstacle course at the end of the summer. We’re also making one giant sandcastle that you would swear requires expert engineering (or 5 high school juniors) to build. Then, that night we’re gonna have a luau on the beach. But I’m not really one for parties, so I figure I’ll take my girlfriend Staci (daughter of leon) off to go look at the stars on our last night before she heads back to the East Coast. Knowing me, I’ll probably have a touching farewell with her and then sit out on the beach all night to be met by my friends in the morning. We’ll then walk off into the sunrise and never reference any of this ever again

What an incredibly accurate, detailed recap of the Malibu Sands experience!  I literally laughed out loud when I read this on my computer at work.  In fact, I loved it so much I stuck it in my Facebook profile.  And now I’m posting it here.  Because anyone who loves Saved By The Belland the whole gang would love this convo.  It really made me nostalgic for all things SBTB, however you can still catch reruns bright and early in the morning on TV :-).  I think I need to buy the DVDs though.  It’s nice to know that this IM came completely sporadically, and that my friend was having some sort of personal nostalgic moment.  I’m glad he chose to share it with me.  I wonder what made him think of it?  When I asked he said he just suddenly thought about those episodes.  But there had to have been some sort of memory trigger.  This is definitely a very happy memory that reminds me of watching TV with my friends and having a humongous crush on Mark-Paul Gosselaar – who’s still hot!

I’m almost positive I’ll be writing about SBTB again in the future…

Entry filed under: conversations, tv. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Pret-A-Manger For A Sand-A-Wich South Pacific Moves From My Grandparents’ House To Broadway

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected